Helena Fairfax

A few months ago I wrote a post on silk-weaving in the city of Lyon, which is the setting for my novel, The Silk Romance.

Today I’m writing about my home town of Saltaire, since the two places have a lot in common.

I realise at first this may be a bit hard to believe.  For a start, Lyon is situated in the southern part of France, has a beautiful climate, with a culture of street cafés and a vibrant night-life; Saltaire is a Victorian mill town, on the edge of the moors, with a typically northern English climate of cold winds and bleak grey skies.

But both Saltaire and the Croix-Rousse (Lyon’s silk-weaving district) are UNESCO World Heritage sites, filled with the history of weaving.

Today I’ve put together a gallery of photos of Saltaire, which you can find at the bottom of the page, if you…

View original post 717 more words

